Buy Online Hannah Peel - REBOX 2 Mini Album *product may differ to image displayed

Hannah Peel

REBOX 2 CD Mini Album

CD $7.00

Release Date: 29/05/2015

Discs: 1

Hannah Peel releases a new seven track mini-album Rebox 2 on 20 July 2015, featuring four new music box covers and three new instrumental pieces. Peel’s first Rebox came out as an EP in 2010, when she covered the likes of Cocteau Twins, New Order and Soft Cell. Initially only available as a Ltd Edition CD and download, the songs on the new release are all from the last couple of years, starting with a version of Perfume Genius’ ‘Queen’ from 2014. ‘Queen’ sets the tone, switching between the scarring homophobic insults - ‘cracked, peeling, riddled with disease’ - and a mocking, defiant response, ‘no family is safe when I sashay’, whilst setting the original lyric and melody on a hand punched music box. This is augmented by sparse percussion and echoing psychedelic textures, as if the track is a fragment from a long lost This Mortal Coil recording. As Hannah Peel says, ‘these songs are about finding a path through life and knowing who we are.’

01. Queen
02. Let The Laughter In
03. Pale Green Ghosts
04. Reverie
05. Palace
06. Premonition
07. Heaven, How Long